1. Home
  2. Property Info
  3. Pay Online
  4. Departments
    1. Animal Control
    2. Assessments
    3. Circuit Clerk
    4. Coroner
    5. County Administration
    6. County Board
    7. County Clerk
    8. Court Services (Probation)
    9. Economic Development
    10. Elections
    11. Office of Emergency Management (OEM)
    12. Geographic Information System (GIS)
    13. Health Department
    14. Highway
    15. Hillcrest Nursing Home
    16. Information Services
    17. Public Defender
    18. Public Transportation (Abilities Plus)
    19. Recorder
    20. Regional Office of Education
    21. Rural Revolving Loan Fund (RRLF)
    22. Sheriff's Office
    23. State's Attorney
    24. Tourism
    25. Treasurer(Property Taxes)
    26. Veteran's Assistance
    27. Voter's Registration
    28. Zoning and Building
  5. Public Info
  6. Events
  7. FOIA
  8. Contact
  9. About Us
  10. Site Map

Farmland Review Committee

The Henry County Farmland Assessment Review Committee consists of three farmers appointed by the County Board Chairman (with the approval of the County Board), together with the Chairman of the Board of Review and the Chief County Assessor, who chairs the Committee. The appointed Committee Members are:

  • Dennis Verbeck, farmer from Cornwall/Annawan Townships
  • Edwin Summers, farmer from Oxford Township
  • Mark Guthrie, farmer from Alba Township

The duties of the Committee are set by the Illinois Property Tax Code:
(35 ILCS 200/10-120)

Sec. 10 -120. County Farmland Assessment Review Committee. A County Farmland Assessment Review Committee (hereafter referred to as the Committee) shall be established in each county to advise the chief county assessment officer on the interpretation and application of the State-certified farmland values, guidelines and the implementation of this Section. The Committee shall consist of 5 members: the chief county assessment officer or his or her designee, the Chairman of the County Board of Review or another member of that Board appointed by the Chairman, and 3 farmers appointed by the Chairman of the County Board. The County Board of each county may fix the compensation of members of the Committee for attendance at meetings of the committee. The chief county assessment officer or designee shall be chairman and shall convene the Committee on or about May 1 of each year. The Committee may solicit public input.

Each chief county assessment officer shall present annually to the Committee the farmland valuation procedure to be used in that county and the equalized assessed valuations by productivity index to be used for the next assessment year. On or about June 1, the Committee shall hold a public hearing on the equalized assessed values of farmland proposed by the Department and the implementation of the procedures proposed by the chief county assessment officer. If the Committee concurs with the procedures and valuations, the chief county assessment officer shall proceed with the farmland assessment process. If the Committee objects to the procedures or valuations proposed, the Committee shall make alternate recommendations to the Department by August 1. The Department shall rule within 30 days and direct the chief county assessment officer to implement the ruling. The Committee may appeal the Department's ruling to the Property Tax Appeal Board within 30 days. The Property Tax Appeal Board shall be the final authority in any appeal and its decisions under this paragraph shall not be subject to the Administrative Review Law. Appeals by the Committee shall be heard by the Property Tax Appeal Board within 30 days of receipt; a decision must be rendered within 60 days of receipt, and not later than December 31 of the year preceding the assessment year. Appeals by the Committee of any county shall take precedence over all individual taxpayer appeals. (Source: P.A. 86-954; 88 - 455.)

Chief County Assessor

Chief County Assessor
Tracey Vinavich, CIAO

Phone: 309-937-3570  
Fax:  309-937-3949  



307 West Center Street
Cambridge, IL   61238
Office Hours:      
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Monday - Friday