Township Assessors

The township assessor is elected or appointed for a four year term. The primary responsibility is to make the original assessments in a township for purposes of property taxation. Upon completion of their work they submit all changes to the Chief County Assessor.

The Chief County Assessment Officer calls a meeting with the township assessors to instruct them in uniformity of their functions.

There are 15 assessment districts in Henry County with 9 different assessors. Township assessors work part-time and most work from their home. Only a couple have an office outside their home.

Related Documents