Convicted Sex Offender Registration
Those who are convicted of a sex offense are required by Illinois law to register with their local law enforcement agency. Offenders must register within three days of either their release from custody or a change of address, school, or employment. Registration must be done annually for ten years after release from custody, and in certain cases can be required for the offender's natural life. Other conditions can require registration more often than yearly. Failure to comply with these requirements can result in an extension of the registration period. Failure can also be a Felony in Illinois. Sex offenders who need to register who live outside Kewanee, Geneseo, or Colona, IL must report to the Henry County Jail at 311 W. Center St., Cambridge, IL, or call 309-937-3940 if you have any questions prior to reporting. If you live in Kewanee, Geneseo, or Colona you must make arrangements with those Police Departments to complete registration.
Convicted Child Sex Offenders are not allowed to reside within 500 feet of a school, park, playground, or any facility that provides services directed exclusively toward persons under 18 years of age. The only exception to this is if the offender owned the property prior to July 7, 2000.
The public is allowed access to this information by coming into the Sheriff's Office, presenting a valid photo ID, and payment of a small fee. We will provide you with a list of all convicted sex offenders registered in Henry County, showing the name, address, date of birth, and offense for each offender. All registrations and requests for information must be done during normal business hours. Direct all inquiries to (309) 937-3970 , weekdays from 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM.